top of page
  • TheWholesomeHome

Pregnancy: A Love Hate Relationship


Dealing with morning sickness, a pinched nerve and pre-eclampsia!


 



Some moments you can never forget… and this was one of the best ones.  


Both my husband and I were eager to not waste time starting a family. We were anxious with this possibility when we were married, but we were hesitantly hopeful with the reality of falling pregnant. I had suffered with PCOS for a very long time and, although, leading up to our wedding, I had carefully managed my hormones through diet and exercise, the stress of this big life change seemed to have stopped my periods all together. Three months went by with no period, but no pregnancy.  


Strangely, one morning, upon an instinct, I purchased a pregnancy test. I had no reason to think I was expecting. There were no noticeable symptoms, neither had I been able to track my cycle for some time. Yet, on the spur of the moment, I forced myself to wait three whole minutes for two lines.  


The elation that followed was expressed through many tears and embraces. However, I was very aware we were not in the clear just yet. It could only be early days, and until twelve weeks, the chance of miscarriage was very high. As such, we kept our joy as quiet as possible.  


A week later, after telling only the future grandparents, I thought my worst fear was becoming a reality. I knew a little bleeding was normal, but surely this much couldn’t be! 


An ultrasound confirmed that the baby was there and about five weeks old, but only a blood test would tell us if he had survived. That was probably the longest week of my life but finally the blood results returned with an unquestionable pregnancy. This baby was going to live! 


I very quickly developed a love hate relationship with this pregnancy, however. The excitement of a child was overwhelming, but so was the morning sickness. For weeks, all I could stomach was tomato on toast. Even my beloved coffee betrayed me.  


Nonetheless, I slowly started building a collection of newborn onesies and other necessities. Every addition cemented the gravity of this impending life change, even more, in our minds… and heart. All those around us seemed to reflect the delight that we ourselves emanated.  


By twenty-five weeks my nausea began to be manageable just as a very cute bump revealed itself.  

Aches and pains are a pretty normal part of pregnancy, especially as the bump grows. So, when a significant irritation below my ribcage developed, I passed it off as quite normal. Despite this assumption, after two weeks, I could not take it any longer. Back I traipsed to my doctor who very quickly assured me that it was not normal. At first glance, she guessed it was gall stones but, after a scan, she realised that it was not the case. Without a specific diagnosis, it was believed to be a pinched nerve due to the position of the baby and my lack of height. The treatment you ask? Patience! The only solution was delivery.  


Other than the trials mentioned above, my pregnancy was going swimmingly. The baby was growing exceptionally well, and I was maintaining quite adequate fitness. My heart rate never went over 70bpm and my blood pressure was a consistent 110/70. As I steadily expanded, things did not quite stay the same. My thirty week checkup reported that I had more than usual swelling, and an increasing blood pressure, although still within normal limits. I was told to be on the lookout for throbbing headaches though. A few weeks later, I woke with pain behind my eye that didn’t want to go away for a day and a half. The following afternoon my mum called and realised something wasn’t quite right. She urged me to go to the doctors which I did, with quite some argument. However, when I arrived, my blood pressure was 160/90 and my headache was only intensifying.  


So, to the hospital I trekked, with equal measures fear and excitement. Is this pre-eclampsia? Am I in danger? Or is this baby going to be born today? 


Nothing eventuated quickly in this pregnancy. So, in accord with its nature, I was in for a long night of monitoring, and not much else. In the morning, the obstetrician was unconcerned and sent me home with instructions to, simply “put my feet up!” (Something I am hopeless at doing.) 


For another week, I waited and rested (somewhat), with regular checkups for increased blood pressure. It remained quite consistent until Sunday 26th May, 2019. Again I woke up with a headache and a blood pressure of 155/85. I continued with my day however, fearing if I went back to the hospital I would just sit there for hours and then be sent home again. After Church, I checked my blood pressure again with very little change. Finally, at 4pm, I knew I had to do something about it. I called my local midwives and they advised to be go to the hospital immediately. They said, they may not do anything, but it would be better than sitting at home and the problem just getting worse.


So, once again, I returned to the hospital, expectant that they would simply send me home.

After checking my blood pressure, heart rate, and the baby’s condition the doctors realised that this baby was ready to come out and the possibility of preeclampsia just convinced them more.


As of that evening, the induction process began. On Tuesday, 28th May, baby Maksymilian was born… and all of the above was forgotten!

39 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page